A Goose For Our Gaggle

26 Aug

Squawk

The Grimm Report has recently received a number of award nominations that I’d like to accept… Whoa now. Easy. EASY! Listen, apparently there are a few, independent-minded types out there who have read our stuff and, let’s just say they liked what they saw. Which is good, because a little affirmation from complete and total strangers goes a long way. But why us? What makes this little blog worth anyone’s valuable time. What the hell is The Grimm Report?

Well, I’ve thought about that last question for a really long time. Mostly because I have yet to create an ‘About’ page. I guess the best short answer I could give you is, ‘A welcome distraction.’

The long answer to the last question for me is as follows. After my wife returns home from a typical day at the office, we usually unload our stress-du-jour over an ever-cooling meal that I’ve pieced together while juggling the needs of two small children. To clear the air, I say to her something like, “Guess what King Midas had installed in his bathroom.” I’ll read her an article from The Grimm Report. We laugh our asses off, much to the confusion of our five year old.

Later, when our little princess and prince are tucked into bed for the night, we’ll sit on the couch with a glass of wine, and wonder. We wonder. What if the Gingerbread Man had food allergies? How come Sleeping Beauty doesn’t just drink a lot of coffee? Would an environmentalist try to save the Magic Beanstalk? We escape into our fantasy. Just a couple of fools laughing at each other until we’re exhausted. And we discover Happily Ever After within the triviality of everyday life. And for that I am glad. And for her I am grateful.

That’s The Grimm Report to me.

So, as I accept these nominations, I would like to take this opportunity to thank my wife for always allowing herself to get distracted by the likes of me.

Thank You!

Yes, we were married at this castle. True story.

Yes, we were married at this castle. True story.

Over the past year, I have been posting our, ‘welcome distraction,’ on the Internet. It seems to have become a welcome distraction for others as well. Recently, The Grimm Report has been opened to submissions for new articles, and the response has been amazing! I would like to take a moment and thank those who have gone above and beyond by supporting The Grimm Report with their own creative efforts.

For providing imagery, story, collaboration, and brilliant imagination, I would like to thank the following people. And I would definitely encourage you all to take a look at their own works.

Jake Stephenson
Don Nguyen
Christa Thompson
Danielle E. Shipley
Ksenia Anske
Michael Fuller
Ned Hickson
Allison Christie
Amy Good
R. G. Dole
Gregory Gerard

Thank you!

Mr. Gerard was also a writing instructor of mine. His class assignments inspired this entire endeavor. So, thanks again, Mr. Gerard.

I would also like to thank my Wednesday night writers group, who have had to suffer these articles on a monthly basis. We’ll call them, The Image City Ink Slingers. You all know who you are.

Thank you!

Lest I forget you, those who stop by The Grimm Report from time-to-time to read and comment. I’m honor that you would consider this to be worth your valuable time.

Thank You!

Now then, for those awards that The Grimm Report was nominated for. What exactly were the awards? Well, for those of you who are keeping score, there were The Versatile Blogger Award and the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, presented to me by Christa Thompson of the Fairytale Traveler blog. I also received a nod for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award from Jennifer Power of the It’s All Kids Stuff blog. I’d like to show you them, but, well… I had them melted down. Yup, melted ’em down and then reforged ’em into a new award.

You see, I really appreciate all the help and attention that The Grimm Report has received. No disrespect to the Academy, but I didn’t feel that passing along a pre-owned award fit the occasion. Also, you just don’t know where those things have been. No, I wanted to give out something new. Something… special, to everyone. An award that grasps the true spirit of The Grimm Report, and celebrates this ‘welcome distraction.’ A nice little pat on the back. And so, for those mentioned creatives, for all of you, it is my pleasure to handout, The Golden Goose!

GoldenGoose

Feel free to do as you will with this award. No need to follow some complicated, pay-it-forward, nomination process. Just enjoy. You’ve earned it. And, once again, thank you!

–Eric Wilder, Resident Court Jester, Editor-In-Chief

20130102-072112.jpg

19 Responses to “A Goose For Our Gaggle”

  1. honeydidyouseethat? 08/26/2013 at 12:52 pm #

    Well if it’s good for the goose, it’s good for the gander. Congrat’s.

    • grimmreport 08/26/2013 at 4:46 pm #

      I learned this morning that gander specifically means male goose. If mama goose don’t approve, ain’t no way the gander’s getting away with it.

  2. Ned's Blog 08/26/2013 at 1:04 pm #

    Congrats, Eric! Well done and well deserved. And I have to agree it’s a beautiful thing being able to share a laugh with the one you love at the end of the day. And not just when you get undressed.

    Cheers to you both, and the welcome distraction of The Grimm Report.

    • grimmreport 08/26/2013 at 4:49 pm #

      I did make mention of the stress-du-jour, correct?

  3. donhoannguyen 08/26/2013 at 2:21 pm #

    Thanks for the consideration and support! Double thanks for an awesome blog that has provided many a chuckle and snort. Grimm Report is the bee’s knees when it comes to my fairytale and folklore current affairs!

    • grimmreport 08/26/2013 at 4:51 pm #

      What exactly have the bees got going on with their knees that make them so admirable?

      • donhoannguyen 08/26/2013 at 4:58 pm #

        I think they have been injury free thus far and are quite the role models for athletes everywhere.

  4. deshipley 08/26/2013 at 2:36 pm #

    There’s no such thing as too much fairytale fun in my life. Thank /you/ for contributing to it, and for the award easily worth its weight in gold! (:

    • grimmreport 08/26/2013 at 4:58 pm #

      That’s great, because these geese came from a foie gras rescue.

  5. Hippie Cahier 08/26/2013 at 6:21 pm #

    And we discover Happily Ever After within the triviality of everyday life.

    I love that. Congratulations on your well-deserved recognition.

  6. Gregory G 08/26/2013 at 6:22 pm #

    Thank you, Eric, for the award and the shout out. I consider this high praise from someone so fantasically creative and equally humorous.
    And, on a tenousouly related note, I am not surprised the goose you’ve pictured is squawking. I also squawk whenever anybody grabs me like that.
    Keep ’em coming, Grimm Report!

  7. rgdole 08/26/2013 at 7:15 pm #

    I know this is really all about yall… but I’m feeling pretty special right now… and your blog is awesome… it deserves all kinds of awards… 😀

  8. rockettattoo 09/02/2013 at 4:23 pm #

    I won’t belong to any organization that would have me as a member – Groucho Marx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Golden Geese and A D@mn Clever Blog | Gregory Gerard blogarama - 08/26/2013

    […] Gerard is honored to receive the Golden Goose award from The Grimm Report today. A fantastically clever and humorous blog. The Brothers Grimm got nothin’ on Eric […]

  2. A Goose For Our Gaggle | A drip of Truth - 08/27/2013

    […] A Goose For Our Gaggle. […]

  3. Apparently even weirdo Geeks can receive The Golden Goose Award | Mumblings From Beyond - 09/02/2013

    […] The Golden Goose Award […]

Leave a Reply

