Pygmalion Sculpting Art, Or Groping At Something Else?

13 Feb
Easy there, buddy! The artist, Pygmalion, as captured by fellow studio artist, Jean-Léon Gérôme.

Easy there, buddy! The Artist, Pygmalion, as captured by fellow studio artist, Jean-Léon Gérôme.

A Special Report By Grimm Report Chief Greek Deity Correspondent,
R.G. Dole

dolewrites.wordpress.com
| @RGDole

Pygmalion and Galatea, like many couples, have hit a rough patch in their marriage. Unlike others, it comes from Pygmalion’s artistic tendencies. When Galatea was questioned she told us, “He made me as the perfect woman. Yet, he continues to make more statues in the shapes of women. I see the way he looks at them; like he’s hoping perhaps Venus will give him an upgrade.”

One can easily see where she might be a little jealous or perhaps need to be concerned. Pygmalion is known for making rather lifelike statues, and has apparently been turning out even bustier creations. Several of which appeared to have been dressed up in different outfits, while others were tucked into beds he had made for them. He, though, was of a different opinion to their relationship.

​“I’m an artist; I can’t help but continue to create art in various shapes and sizes. And so what if I like to make them feel at home. Galatea didn’t complain when I did that for her. Plus I’m not asking Venus to turn any into real women, so I don’t see what’s wrong with me having a hobby. You don’t hear me complaining when she goes to the park and pretends to be a statue again.”

​Altogether one might think they both should be a little concerned for each other, but we’re all hoping they work out their problems. After all their love story is a beautiful one.

20130102-072112.jpg

22 Responses to “Pygmalion Sculpting Art, Or Groping At Something Else?”

  1. rgdole 02/13/2014 at 1:45 pm #

    by the way I love the title… I suck at titling things…

    • grimmreport 02/13/2014 at 1:53 pm #

      Self deprecation doesn’t suit you.

      • rgdole 02/13/2014 at 2:02 pm #

        Oh you know me… I’ll blow my own horn in a heartbeat… but that is actually true… always have been terrible with titles… I actually tend to get my dad to help me with those… hehe…

  2. Ned's Blog 02/13/2014 at 2:51 pm #

    I’m going to go stand motionless in the park and see what happens. It’s not that much different from sitting motionless here in the office…

    • grimmreport 02/13/2014 at 5:27 pm #

      Fig leaves are mandatory in the park.

      • Ned's Blog 02/13/2014 at 9:03 pm #

        I’m thinking giant maple…

      • grimmreport 02/13/2014 at 9:10 pm #

        Like Michelangelo’s Canadian David

      • Ned's Blog 02/13/2014 at 9:15 pm #

        More like Mrs. Schlependorf’s seventh-grade ceramics class, when Billy Guthery made Adam and Eve and with the snake, but then snake slid down Adam’s leg in the kiln and Billy was forced to destroy it or get suspended.

      • grimmreport 02/13/2014 at 9:48 pm #

        Damn you, snake. Damn you to hell!

      • Ned's Blog 02/13/2014 at 10:02 pm #

        Hahahaha! 😉

  3. idiotprufs 02/13/2014 at 3:21 pm #

    I should take up sculpting.

  4. Erika Beebe 02/13/2014 at 5:22 pm #

    Brilliant. Just what I needed today. I think, if you don’t mind of course, I shall reblog it in the morning. Thank you. 🙂

  5. Erika Beebe 02/14/2014 at 7:36 am #

    Reblogged this on Cloud Nine Girl and commented:
    In celebrating today’s glorious day of love, and in being the artist that I went to school to be, I had to share this great Report. May we all find plenty of smiles and laughs and love today, my friends. Happy Friday! Erika 🙂

    • grimmreport 02/14/2014 at 7:38 am #

      Thanks, Erika. Happy Valentines Day.

    • kcroofdr 02/15/2014 at 8:12 pm #

      Very nice

      • Erika Beebe 02/16/2014 at 12:03 am #

        You are awesome Brian! Thank you 🙂

      • Erika Beebe 02/16/2014 at 12:05 am #

        You are awesome Brian! Thank you for checking out the Grimm Report 🙂

  6. skinnyuz2b 02/14/2014 at 2:59 pm #

    At least she turned her back to us. Hussy. And pretty weird masks in the background to the right.

  7. Outlier Babe 02/14/2014 at 9:33 pm #

    What did that girl expect from a guy with a name beginning with “pig-male”? Am waiting for someone to suggest that she take up poisoning pigeons in that park.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pygmalion Sculpting Art, Or Groping At Something Else? | A drip of Truth - 02/13/2014

    […] Pygmalion Sculpting Art, Or Groping At Something Else?. […]

Leave a Reply

